Jagir Kaur elected SGPC president for fourth time - ECAS Punjab

Jagir Kaur elected SGPC president for fourth time

Share This

Tribune News Service
Amritsar, November 27

Senior SAD leader Bibi Jagir Kaur was elected president of the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) for the fourth time at an annual general House meeting held here today. She succeeds Gobind Singh Longowal.

Held post in 2005

Jalandhar: Many years after Bibi Jagir Kaur got mired in a controversy relating to her daughter's death, the SAD once again appointed her as the SGPC chief. A few days after she was inducted as a minister in the SAD-BJP government in 2012, she was convicted and jailed for the "forcible abortion" of her daughter. Even after she got bail, she remained sidelined by the party till she was appointed as the chief of the Istri Akali Dal about three years ago. On her appointment, Bholath MLA Sukhpal Khaira said, "The decision to appoint Bibi Jagir Kaur, a tainted and corrupt leader, as SGPC president exhibits total political bankruptcy of the SAD, besides the fact that she is a known rubber stamp of the Badals." TNS

A day earlier, members owing allegiance to the SAD had entrusted all rights to party president Sukhbir Singh Badal to take a final call on their behalf.

As Jagir Kaur's name was announced by Longowal and seconded by former SGPC acting president Alwinder Pal Singh Pakhoke, it was opposed by some members who proposed the name of rebel 'Akali' leader Mithu Singh Kahneke against her.

Dhami appointed chief secy

Amritsar: The SGPC's general House on Friday appointed Harjinder Singh Dhami as honorary chief secretary. Dhami, a law graduate, has been SGPC member since 1996 and also served as general secretary during the last tenure. His appointment was confirmed by passing a resolution read by newly appointed SGPC chief Bibi Jagir Kaur during the general House meeting. The post has been vacant after Dr Roop Singh resigned on August 24. While passing another resolution, the House urged the Centre to reopen the Kartarpur corridor. TNS

Consequently, the voting process was adopted in which Jagir Kaur emerged as the winner with a convincing margin. She polled 122 of the total 143 votes.

She was first elected as SGPC president in 1999. In 2000, she was re-elected but during this term she resigned following the controversy in which she was accused of allegedly killing her daughter.

During her third tenure, she led the Sikh body from September 2004 to November 2005. She was acquitted by the Punjab and Haryana High Court in December 2018.

Surjit Singh Bhittewad was elected as senior vice-president, Baba Buta Singh junior vice-president and Bhagwant Singh Sialka general secretary.

Jagir Kaur has proposed the name of Kahneke to be included in the 11-member executive. The other executive members include Baldev Singh Chungha, Baba Charanjit Singh Jassowal, Navtej Singh Kaoni, Satwinder Singh Tohra, Ajmer Singh Khera, Darshan Singh, Bhupinder Singh Balwan, Harbhajan Singh Masana, Malkit Kaur Kamalpur and Amrik Singh Shahpur.

from The Tribune https://ift.tt/3fLDxn0

No comments:

Post a Comment